torsdag 29. desember 2022

Welcome back in 2023!

In 2023 the tournament will be played from 2nd to 9th of April.
More information to be found at

søndag 16. oktober 2022

Final standings

GM Narayanan S.L. of India won the GM-group ahead of his countryman GM Abhimanyu Puranik and GM Anton Demchenko representing FIDE. They all took 7 points in 9 rounds, but Narayanan had the best tie-break.

GM S.P. Sethuraman of India finished in fourth place as the only player with 6½ points. GM Mads Andersen of Denmark was fifth with the best tie-break of five players with 6 points.

There was only one title norm in the tournament, an IM-norm taken by FM Semen Mitusov of Ukraine.

The Open was won by Mikael Aroven of Sweden with 7½ points. FM Joachim Solberg and Philip Helland on 7 points were respectively second and third.

Top-3 in the GM-group:
Demchenko, Narayanan and Puranik
(Photo: Tom Eriksen)

Solberg and Aroven from the Open
(Foto: Tom Eriksen)

lørdag 15. oktober 2022

Title norms

Three players have chances for title norms before the last round:
IM Kirk Ghazarian (USA):Needs draw for GM-norm
IM Elham Abdulrauf (NOR):    Needs win for GM-norm
FM Semen Mitusov (UKR):Needs win for IM-norm


Fagernes Autumn Blitz II

Fagernes Autumn Blitz II was played Saturday 15th October with 30 participants. 

Norwegian IM Elham Abdulrauf won all his 9 games and took clear first place. English GM Keith Arkell was second and Norwegian FM Ward Al-Tarboush third. They were both 2 points behind the winner.

Arkell, Abdulrauf and Al-Tarboush
(Photo: Tom Eriksen)

fredag 14. oktober 2022

Fagernes Slow Blitz II

Fagernes Slow Blitz II was played Friday 14th October with 35 participants. 

The A-group was won by 12-year old Tykhon Cherniaiev from Ukraine and Germany. 
IM Rout Padmini from India took second place ahead of Norwegian FM Ward Al-Tarboush.

There were only Norwegian players in the B-group. Ben Samuel Groth Skaar won with Vinjar Hammari coming second and Simen Nikolai Storlid third.

Top-3 in the A-group: 
Al-Tarboush, Cherniaiev and Padmini
(Photo: Tom Eriksen)

Top-3 in the B-group:
Storlid, Skaar and Hammari
(Photo: Tom Eriksen)

torsdag 13. oktober 2022


The teamtalkingchess tournament at Fagernes was played Thursday 13th October with 8 teams and 33 players. You find the the playing rules here.

Winners were the team Dracula og hjelperne hans, consisting of Tobias Lang Nilsen, Sondre Melaa, Jacob T. Grave and Andreas Skrede Hausken.

Abdi og gjengen (FM Andre Gjestemoen-Vonhirsch, FM Aksel Bu Kvaløy, Shazil Shehzad og Martin Holten Fiskaaen) took second place, while Svin uten forståelse (IM Kjetil Stokke, Heine N. Johannessen, Olai Dyrhaug Eriksen, Gard Høyforsslett and substitute Theo N. Johannessen) finished third.

The winners: Dracula og hjelperne hans

lørdag 30. april 2022

Welcome to Fagernes International Autumn!

The tournament is played at the major Norwegian Chess Hotel Scandic Valdres
at Fagernes, 187 km north of Oslo.
Main organizer is Hans Olav Lahlum in cooperation with Sotra Sjakklubb and Innlandet Sjakkrets.

Hans Olav Lahlum

Hans Olav Lahlum (born 1973) is a well known Norwegian chess player, chess organizer and chess TV commentator, having the titles of International Organizer (IO) and International Arbiter (IA) from the World Chess Federation FIDE. 

Lahlum organized numerous international tournaments at Gausdal 1999-2008, Oslo 2011-2014 and Fagernes 2014-2022. 

He has also been chief arbiter in many other large tournaments including the Norwegian championships 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2012, 2013, 2017, 2018 and 2019.